2023 Award Winners: 40 Under 40 Emerging Nurse Leaders

The Illinois Nurses Foundation proudly announces 2023 40 under 40 Emerging Nurse Leaders Award winners. This award was established in 2015 by the Illinois Nurses Foundation to highlight and celebrate young nurse leaders. It celebrates those who are impacting health care and the nursing profession today and who will undoubtedly shape the future of the profession in Illinois!

This year’s winners come from all over Illinois and work in various healthcare environments—public schools, university medical centers, colleges of nursing, children’s hospitals, ICUs, and more! No matter where they work—or their official titles—these nursing leaders teach, heal, and inspire those around them daily. Their passion, skill, and knowledge advance health care and the nursing profession in their work environments and in their communities. We know this is only the beginning for all these amazing nursing leaders!

An event honoring the award winners will occur on September 21, 2023, starting at 5:30 pm at the DoubleTree by Hilton Lisle/Naperville. Registration is required, and tickets will be available soon on our website at www.illinoisnurses.foundation.

Angela Andrews
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Kate Barrett
Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Katy Behling
Edward-Elmhurst Health

Karena Brown
Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Dana Campbell
Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Amanda Connoyer
Springfield Clinic

Sherri Crumley   
Loyola University Medical Center

Mackenzie Daniels   
Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center

Amy Driscoll   
Aurora at Home

Karla Echeverria   
Advocate South Suburban Hospital

Aaron Franklin   
Rush University Medical Center/Rush University

Shana Freehill
OSF HealthCare

Leticia Garcia 
Self Employed

Jacy Ghast   
Eastern Illinois University

Margaret Gladman   
Rush University Medical Group

Colleen Haynes   
Rush University/Rush University Medical Center

Brittany Judge   

Katie Kean   
Rush University Medical Center

Eleni Key   
Lakeview College of Nursing

Hyejin Kim   
Rush University

Anne Kowalczyk   
DePaul University

Kathleen Krawzak   
Advocate Children’s Hospital

Megan Kupferschmid   
OSF HealthCare

Annie Lally   
Rush University Medical Center

Faye Lewis   
Orthopedic Center of Illinois

Michael Liwanag   
Rush University Medical Center

Jessica Madrigal   
Northern Illinois University

Anne O’Boye   
Northwestern Memorial Healthcare

Shannon O’Shea
Rush University College of Nursing

Allison Palhegyi
Advocate Children’s Hospital

Jenna Palmisano   
Glen Hill Elementary School

Kelly Perez   
Advocate Children’s Hospital

Carrie Quinn   
Advocate Children’s Hospital

Eleanor Rivera   
University of Illinois Chicago College of Nursing

Haley Sachs
Kellogg Cancer Center

Jennifer Sandoval
DePaul University

Roshni Shah   

Jill Trzaska
Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Stephanie Zidek 
Advocate Aurora Health

Lisell Zuniga
Valley View 365

Make a difference and support Illinois nurses